Saturday, January 06, 2007


In 1893 New Zealand became the first country to give all woman the vote

The Vatican City is the last remaining absolute monarchy in Europe

Nebraska's legislature is unicameral and non partisan

France's remaining colonies have a vote in national elections and send members to the French Congress

Senator James Shields represented three different states in the Senate at various times during his political career. They were Illinois, Minnesota, and Missouri

The President of Kiribati, Anote Tong's main opponent in the last election was his brother, Dr. Harry Tong

Nauru is the only nation in the world to have no capital

Grover Cleveland served two non-consecutive terms as U.S President

The oldest legislature in the world is Iceland's Allthing

With six seats in the House of Reps. the Progressive Party of Vermont is the only third party in the country to hold more then one seat in a state legislature

There are only eleven countries in the world that do not claim to be democratic. They are: the Vatican City, Saudi Arabia, Kuwait, Qatar, Bhutan, the United Arab Emirates, Bahrain, Oman, Swaziland, Thailand, and Brunei

No comments: